Saturday, May 15, 2010

Ring The Alarm playlist, BaseFM, May 15

Timmy Thomas -Why can't we live together? (Shoes dub mix)
Sugar Minott - Nice it up
Richie Phoe - Ital food
Roots radics - Patrolling
Skatalites - Addis ababa
Nas and Damian Marley - Land of promise
Hypnotic brass ensemble - Balliki bone
Ariya astrobeat arkestra - Crosstown traffic
Manu Dibango - Africadelic
Myron and E with the Soul Investigators - It's a shame
Flaming souls - Mosquito
Mos dub  - Travelling underground
The soul fantastics - Aint no sunshine
Ragga twins - Spliffhead (original)
Fulgeance - Sour socca
Lightning head - NPG
Jorge Ben - Umbabarauma
Mayer Hawthorne - The ills
Sharon Jones and the Dapkings - Better things
Gil Scott Heron - Lady Day and John Coltrane
The Staples - Sweeter than sweet
Don Armando's 2nd ave rumba - I'm an Indian too (Pilooski edit)
Ruts DC - Love and fire (Dreadzone remix)
RSD - Forward youth
Borther culture - Warning
Lovejoys - It aint easy
King everand - Kill ol pan
Noel Ellis - Rocking universally
Jay-Z at studio One - Dirt off your shoulder

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Oddisee - Odd Spring

Producer Oddisee drops the final installment in his collection of EPs based around the seasons., Ok, so they're synced to the Northern hemispehere, but that doesnt make them any less dope. Download it for free here - he also plans to release em all as a box set on vinyl too.

You can download the previous EPs over here, check the excellent Put me On It blog.

Mr Chop and CL Smooth

Mr Chop released a wicked album recently, called For Pete's Sake, a bunch of tunes by Pete Rock reworked - now Cl Smooth has got in on the act, free mp3 for you via the good folk at Stonesthrow....

"Last year, Mr. Chop – a producer and multi-instrumentalist behind several Now-Again recordings and DOOM's Born Like This – released For Pete's Sake, an album made up entirely of psych, funk, jazz and rock covers of Pete Rock’s greatest beats. The backing tracks for the new versions with CL Smooth's are different than those on the Pete’s Sake album, and feature The Heliocentrics’ Malcolm Catto on drums."