Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Mr Chop

Mr Chop dropped a very tasty album a while back of instrumental covers based on the production work of hiphop producer Pete Rock -  called For Pete's Sake. Free download of his version of TROY here.

His latest effort came out recently, and is called Switched On. It's inspired by famous Moog albums by the likes of Dick Hyman. There's a killer version of Studio One reggae jam Greedy G in there too [listen below], amongst the funky JBs/Can covers. This is a delightfully twisted album full of dirty drums and squelchy synths.

From Now Again Records site: "We’re pleased to present – in association with Five Day Weekend – Mr. Chops’s Switched On over the course of a 9” single and a 2×10” LP. By now you know all about the man – but, in case you need a primer: Chop is a producer, engineer, multi-instrumentalist and the proprietor of Cheshire, UK based Ape Recording Studios, one of the finest analog studios in the world…. and a repository for vintage synthesisers, guitars, drums and gear sourced from the world over.

Thus, Switched On is a natural album: Chop’s homage to the great Moog-lead albums that proliferated in the wake of the synthesizer’s invention in the late 60s and early 70s. Unlike those records – like Dick Hyman’s Age of Electronicus, which contained one great synth-funk track [listen] amidst a series of soft pop hits – this album is all killer, and no filler. Mr. Chop tackles songs by the likes of Can, the JBs, Jimi Hendrix and Jimmy Smith via a still-futuristic blend of heavy drums by The Heliocentrics’ Malcolm Catto and his own fuzzy guitars and cosmic keys."

LP and CD presented in a thick cardboard “tip-on” sleeve. Colored-vinyl 9” presented in a clear, heavy vinyl jacket." Listen/buy it here.

Free download of Mr Chop - Happy Birthday here.

01. Hung-Up
02. Root Down (& Get It)
03. Breakthrough
04. Givin’ Up Food For Funk
05. Blow Your Head
06. Deep Gully
07. Greedy G
08. Happy Birthday
09. Vitamin C
10. Cortex

No comments: