Thursday, September 18, 2014

Silver Scroll finalists announced

Tami Neilson

After announcing the long list of 20 finalists, APRA has revealed the shortlist for this year's Silver Scroll Award earlier today. The winner will be announced on October 30 at Wellington's TSB Arena.

I'm surprised and disappointed that Connan Mockasin didn't make it thru for his fantastic song I'm The Man Who Will Find You, easily one of the sharpest songs to come out of Aotearoa in a long time. And no hiphop or R&B in the final 5 either.

Joel Little is up for the 2nd year in a row, after winning as co-writer with Lorde for Royals last year.

From APRA's press release: "The top five songs in line for the 2014 APRA Silver Scroll Award are:

Back on My Feet, written and performed by Louis Baker.

Bob Lennon John Dylan, written by Samuel Scott, Lukasz Buda, Thomas Wedde, William Ricketts, Thomas Callwood and Christopher O'Connor, performed by The Phoenix Foundation

Bridges, written by Georgia Nott, Joel Little and Caleb Nott, performed by Broods 

Me At The Museum, You In The Wintergardens
, written by Hollie Fullbrook, Alexander Freer and Cass Mitchell, performed by Tiny Ruins

Walk (Back To Your Arms), written by Tami Neilson and Joshua Neilson, performed by Tami Neilson.

 The winner of the award is decided by the votes of the 10,000 strong APRA membership, comprised of songwriters and composers.

Also announced today are the finalists for the APRA Maioha and SOUNZ Contemporary awards, as well as the finalists for two new awards – APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film and the APRA Best Original Music in a Series.

The finalists for the 2014 APRA Maioha Award, celebrating excellence in Māori Music are:
Kati Ra, written by Maraea Davies, performed by RJ Kerswell
Kei Muri Pea, written by Kororia Taumaunu, Amomai Pihama and Matt Sadgrove, performed by Manea
Tiki Tapu, written and performed by Rob Ruha.

The finalists for the 2014 SOUNZ Contemporary Award, celebrating excellence in contemporary composition are:
Aquae Sulis - for orchestra of winds, strings, harp and percussion, composed by Leonie Holmes
Inner Phases - for Chinese instrument ensemble and string quartet, composed by Michael Norris
Macropsia - for orchestra, composed by Celeste Oram.

The finalists for the 2014 APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award are:
Beyond the Edge, written / composed by David Long
Field Punishment No. 1, written / composed by Victoria Kelly
Romeo & Juliet: A Love Song, written / composed by Michael O’Neill and Peter Van Der Fluit.

The finalists for the 2014 APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award are:
Girl Vs. Boy (Season 2), written / composed by Tom Mcleod
Harry, written / composed by Karl Steven
Wiki the Kiwi (Season 1), written by Andrew McDowall.

All awards will be presented at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards, along with the Most Performed Works awards and a very special induction into the NZ Music Hall of Fame.

The Silver Scroll Awards will be streamed live on NZ Herald Online." 

No comments: