Thursday, October 10, 2013

Sharon Jones back on deck

"There's good news to report regarding Sharon Jones, the vocalist of the Brooklyn-based soul ensemble the Dap-Kings, who was diagnosed with stage-one bile-duct cancer in June. According to a press release, Jones is "doing much better" and the band plans to release its postponed album "Give the People What They Want" January 14 2014 via Daptone.

Jones and the Dap-Kings also announced plans for a return to the stage, as they're set to play New York's Beacon Theater Feb. 6.

Last month, Jones announced she was recovering in upstate New York following a successful surgery in June to remove the cancer. In August, she began a six-month regimen of chemotherapy.

“The entire Daptone Family is overjoyed and inspired to see Sharon’s recovery,” says the band’s bassist and bandleader Bosco Mann, via a news post on the band's official site. “Without a doubt, this album is the greatest thing we’ve ever recorded and I’ve been anxious for the world to hear it. Everything will culminate in February at the Beacon. That moment when Sharon walks out to join us on stage again is going to be insane.” Via Billboard

From Daptone: "This past spring, we had just announced the August release of Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings’ Give the People What They Want when Sharon Jones was diagnosed with cancer.

The scheduled release and supporting tours were immediately put on hold and all efforts were quickly shifted to her treatment and recovery. It brings great joy and relief to announce that after a successful operation, ongoing treatment, and the continued support and love of friends, family, and fans, Sharon Jones is back.

Give the People What They Want
is scheduled to drop January 14th, 2014, followed by Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings’ triumphant return to the stage on February 6th at the Beacon Theater in New York City, their first show in nearly a year. Ticketing information will be available soon."

Give The People What They Want tracklisting
1. Retreat!
2. Stranger To My Happiness
3. We Get Along
4. You'll Be Lonely
5. Now I See
6. Making Up And Breaking Up (And Making Up And Breaking Up Over Again)
7. Get Up And Get Out
8. Long Time, Wrong Time
9. People Don't Get What They Deserve
10. Slow Down, Love

No comments: