Thursday, September 12, 2013

Silver Scroll finalists announced

The five finalists for 2013′s APRA Silver Scroll Award are:

- Bird in Hand, written by Anna Coddington, performed by Anna Coddington (Mushroom Music NZ Limited).

- Complicated Man, written by Cy Winstanley, performed by Tattletale Saints

- Royals, written by Ella Yelich-O’Connor and Joel Little, performed by Lorde (Control / EMI Music Publishing Australia Pty Ltd)

- Thames Soup, written by Luke Buda, Sam Scott, Thomas Callwood, Richie Singleton, Chris O’Connor, Conrad Wedde and William Ricketts, performed by The Phoenix Foundation (Native Tongue Music Publishing)

- Wake Up, written by Aaradhna Patel, Evan Short and Peter Wadams, performed by Aaradhna (Universal Music / Control / Kobalt Music Publishing).

The top five shortlist were compiled from votes by APRA members -  fellow songwriters - and came from a longlist featuring songs nominated for the award by the song's writers. 

The Awards ceremony will be held at Vector Arena (shifting from their usual Akld Town Hall venue) on Tuesday October 15 and will feature cover versions of the five Silver Scroll finalists as well as the APRA Maioha Award and SOUNZ Contemporary Award.

The finalists for the contemporary classical Sounz Award and te reo Maioha Award have also been announced.

Lightbox by Karlo Margetic, Timedance by Michael Norris and Triple Concerto by Chris Gendall are the three Sounz Award finalists.

E Te Iwi, by IWI, Ruaimoko performed by Maisey Rika, featuring Anika Moa, and Ngatapa Black's Te Ngakau Mamae are up for the Maioha Award.

No comments: