Monday, September 16, 2013

Myele Manzanza worldwide

After getting limited release in New Zealand a while back, Myele's debut album has been picked up worldwide by UK label Barely Breaking Even [BBE], and it's out now.

"The driving rhythmical talent behind Electric Wire Hustle steps out from behind the drum kit to release his first solo album ‘One’.

At just 25 years old the musically prolific Myele Manzanza has not only held down the drums as part of New Zealand's Electric Wire Hustle for the past 5 years but has also drummed for many other NZ bands including Olmecha Supreme, Sheba Williams, The Recloose Live Band, The Jonathan Crayford Trio as well as for his father - Sam Manzanza’s Rhythm Africa Band & countless other musical projects.

In 2010 Myele was the only New Zealander selected to participate in the Red Bull Music Academy in London where he picked up a wealth of knowledge & skill from the many other participants from all over the world and expert lecturers such as Flying Lotus, Roots Manuva, Cluster, Moodyman, Dr Peter Zinovieff and DJ Zinc.

The rest of the year was spent living between Berlin & New York & touring with Electric Wire Hustle with laptop in hand. The fertile breeding ground of creativity of these cities provided the seeds of musical inspiration to put together his first album aptly titled ‘One’.

Created primarily in Wellington, New York and Berlin in kitchens, bedrooms, hotel rooms, parks, balconies and backstage ‘One’ draws on many influences and experiences. Rooted in Myele’s musical “first language” of rhythm, the album also expresses his voice as a musician and producer outside of being a drummer which was a key motivation for Myele. "This album was a challenge to myself to broaden my own musical identity as a musician.”

“Myele’s one of the freshest talents to come out of NZ in years - he’s got his own sound, concept and skills that can put him alongside anyone anywhere in the world. one sick, sick talent and I’m always excited to hear what’s coming next.” - Mark de Clive-Lowe (Mashibeats/Tru Thoughts)

Track listing
1.Neighbours Intro
2.Big Space feat. Mark de Clive-Lowe and Bella Kalolo
3.Absent feat. Bella Kalolo
5.Elvin's Brew feat. Mark de Clive-Lowe
6.City Of Atlantis feat. Charlie K and Ladi6
7.On The Move feat. Rachel Fraser (Funkommunity)
8.Everybody Isn't
9.7 Bar Thing feat. Mara TK (Electric wire hustle)
10.Me I Know Him feat. Sam Manzanza and Amenta

No comments: